Off Road Forums On Planet4x4 banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:banghead: I just bought my truck. It is a 2003 Chevy Silveraldo 4x4 1500HD Crew Cab. I am also new at wheelin. I am looking for advice on the best suspension lift for my truck. I was thinking a 6" Fabtech lift, with 35" tires and 8" rims. I am banging my head against the wall trying to make a sound decision.

·
Going Postal
4,026 Posts
Are you building a street cruiser? The 6" lift and 35" looks real nice on the newer trucks. Have you thought about gear changes as well for the tire size? May not be an issue in your case.

I hear the Fabtech lift is a real good one.

BTW: Welcome to the board. :thumb:

Planet | 4X4 | Forum

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I would like to be able to offroad in my truck at least on some amature stuff just to have a little fun without worrying about clearence or traction. But a clean look would is a plus also

·
Registered
883 Posts
If your looking for a 4x4rig, dont use the new truck!! Cause even the smallest of trails can add dents, especially in a full size, and with a new wheeler!!

Once you start wheelin, you will want to tear it all apart, voiding warranties, if you have them, and getting into a whole lotta $$!! If the vehicle is financed, I wouldn't touch it with anything because it the warranties are voided, it kinds defeate the issue!!

But hey, thats my opinion, doesn't mean you have to listen to me!!

I have a suggestion, how bout building a SAMMI to Wheel!! There are CHEAP, and Very Inexpensive to maintain!! Cheaper then a full size that is!! Let me know, we have our shop almost open and would be happy to assist you in any way!! Check out the Jamboree pice, My sammi is the blue one, it goes just about anywhere our comp buggy goes and is very FUN!! The best part is I don't have to worry about the dents, cause itas my trail rig!! Good luck in your journeys!!