Off Road Forums On Planet4x4 banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, fellow wheelers! I'm a Pocatello resident hoping to join you guys on the trails in the near future. I just completed some more work, and wanted to post my progress, like mad4mud.

Here's the scoop:
87 4Runner body, drivetrain, rear axle on 85 frame and solid front axle. Vented front disks from 82+ FJ40, IFS calipers, V6 master cylinder and brake booster. Marlin crossover steering system, with plated IFS steering box frame mounts. All-pro front springs, chevy pickup rear springs. 12 inch Bilstein 5150's in front, 14 inch in back. Toyota taco e-locker in rear, LandCruiser high pinion e-locker in front. 33x12.5 cheapo mudders. 40 Channel CB in dash. Driveshafts by High Angle driveline.

293_3_4.jpg

under_rear_800.jpg

fpumpkin800.jpg
View of the front e-locker

Right now it's my daily driver. The front and rear part-time lockers have proven useful in snowy conditions. Very slick/icy conditions... not so nice.

What's next? Well, I need to carry a spare tire and make lift points for my high lift jack, or the spare is useless. I have plans and materials for a rear bumper/tire carrier. Rock sliders on hand from marlin will go on next, followed by a home brew front bumper. Hopefully during the Christmas break.

After that? It's a toss-up between gears and a early 90s non turbo supra 6 cylinder motor. Should come close to bolting right in place of the old 4cylinder.

What are your suggestions for modifications?

The vechicle is mechanically reliable... starts immediately and doesn't leak a drip anywhere. Actually keeps up with traffic on the freeway - barely. If anybody is ready for some local wheeling, drop me a line! I'm all dressed up with no place to go!

·
Registered
3,268 Posts
I'd like to see some pics of your front and rear spring setups... more the better!