Off Road Forums On Planet4x4 banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys i am new to off road and i am really interested in it i have mechanic and auto body experience but do not know much about off road i would want something that is still streetable but could handle some nice off road shit too

what would you recommend getting that is pretty cheap to pick up and easy to find parts for

thanks

ozz

·
Premium Member
3,809 Posts
Ok, kind of loaded question. What kind of off roading do you wish to do. Rocks or mud? For rocks usually people choose smaller vechicles so that they can squeeze betwen rocks with minimal damage. Mud on the otherhand, wheelbase and horsepower are usually kings!
You are then going to run into the brand X vs. brand Y debate with bashing of the others respective brand. Now that being said let me try to answer you question.
Toyotas run forever (can you tell my bias) are fairly cheep to find and have mass aftermarket parts availiable. The same can be said for Samurais. I personally am biased for the older toyotas. pickup and 4runners. Have an '85 which has the solid axle and EFI. Not a lot of power but will run forever and can be made into a damn good off road vehicle while retaining the drivability. Jeeps are plenty availiable as well with a lot of aftermarket support. Each brand you look at will have pros and cons and you need to look at them all. (example, early toyotas have notorius weak birfield joints, replacement Longfields correct this weakness.)

Hope that helps.

star

·
Premium Member
3,809 Posts
Look around on the mudding forum and see what everyone is running. Older chevy and fords are all around!

·
Premium Member
2,721 Posts
Mid 70s to late 80s chevy 3/4 or 1 ton.

·
Registered
401 Posts