Off Road Forums On Planet4x4 banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, just heard about you guys in Peterson's 4wheel & Off-Road.

I guess I should introduce myself. My name's Tim. I'm fairly new to the area, I've been attending College in Rexburg for the last 2 years. My Mom and sister also just moved to Rigby.

I'm just getting the loose ends tied up on my '75 Chevy K10 and I'd like to take it out and learn the ropes of offroad driving. Where I lived before I never had a chance to learn, and wasn't really aware of any 4x4 clubs in the area.

My 2nd project is a '53 Willys M38A1 (CJ-5) that is in pieces, but set up for a SBC. Hopefully, I'll be able to make some progress on it over Christmas vacation. I really only have re-assembly left if I decide to put it back to the 283 powered form it was before I got it, but I'm concerned that the stock Dana 25 (27?) front axle and 2 piece Dana 44 rear won't hold up to the abuse. I bought a thrashed and rusted out '72 Wagoneer for parts for it, but I can't decide which way to go. The Wagoneer probably only needs plates and a new floorboard before it would be ready for the dunes, but I have these crazy ideas of either putting the wagoneer stuff in the M38A1, or making the Wagoneer into a Buggy, and going some other route with the M38A1.

When do you guys meet? How can I join?

Is there anyone from Rexburg in the club?

Tim Aka "K10Frankenstein"
(If you saw my truck, and knew it's history, you'd understand.)

·
Registered
452 Posts
Tim,

Check out http://www.snakeriveroffroaders.com/ thats the official site and has info on joining etc. There are several people in the club from Rexburg and there are a ton more like myself that are loosely associated with the club. Everyone in the club is great and have a lot of fun. I'm attending BYUI as well and live over at brighton apts #204. Give me a call sometime at (208) 757-2393. I'd love to see your projects and lend a helping hand if needed.