Off Road Forums On Planet4x4 banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just picked up this 1990 K-5 Blazer. Its got about 6" of lift and 37" swampers. Thing is in pretty decent shape. Wondering what anyone thinks i should do next. Im new to the whole offroad world so I'm not sure what would be good to do next. I was thinking maybe new shocks all the way around and a dual steering stabilizer kit. Its got the stock 10bolt axles with different gearing, not sure what gearing it has in it but when in 4wheelLo it crawls pretty good at idle. Let me know what you guys think. Im not lookin to drop thousands into this thing. Im lookin for it to be a good trail/mud rig. Thanks guys.

·
Premium Member
684 Posts
take it out and wheel it....inspect it...wheel it....inspect it.....things that show wear or you dont like, change.

i reccomend a winch, then lockers. they are worth there weight in gold when in a sticky situation.

trev :thumb:

·
Registered
148 Posts
That's a good looking blazer. I had an 83 on 35's. I think that you need to figure out how much wheelin your going to do and then put the money in wisely. That 10 bolt will not hold up to serious abuse and I would not put lockers in it. Instead, look for a 14 or a 60 that already has some kind of locker. Like Trevor said, take it out and see what happens. Most of us didn't start out with hard core wheelin in mind. It just happens....
Good luck

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That's a good looking blazer. I had an 83 on 35's. I think that you need to figure out how much wheelin your going to do and then put the money in wisely. That 10 bolt will not hold up to serious abuse and I would not put lockers in it. Instead, look for a 14 or a 60 that already has some kind of locker. Like Trevor said, take it out and see what happens. Most of us didn't start out with hard core wheelin in mind. It just happens....
Good luck