Off Road Forums On Planet4x4 banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
does anybody know of an off-road shop in the Nampa/Caldwell/Boise area that is willing to hire a college student and teach them?

I've been hunting for a job the last four months and I've come up with next to nobody that is willing to work with a student's schedule.

Thanks,
Eric

·
Registered
360 Posts
The best thing you can do is show them your face and ask in person. No one, I expect, would say "yeah, come on down" on an Internet page where they have no way to judge how you present yourself and have no way to ask you questions on what you know now, what your availability is, etc. Just put on something not-ragged, hit a few of the shops, and talk to them personnaly.

Remember that a "No" is not a personal insult. There's a million reasons to say no, with the primary one for most shops being that they cannot afford to take the time to teach someone, even if that someone is there for free...

And speaking of "free"...remember...if you're asking to be taught, you're getting more than you're giving. You can expect them to want you to work for free or for damn low wages. Your pay is in the tutoring. I don't think that's a bad deal, considering how much is costs to go to a reputable school. I priced WyoTech for my son (should he decide to not stick with college) and it wasn't cheap.

Gotta tell ya, though, if I had my choice between having my son go to WyoTech and having him "apprentice" under one of the guys that frequent this board who run shops, I'd put him in an apprenticeship. That'd be a Helluva lot more real-world learning than he'd ever get in a school.

-Mikey-

·
What next?
3,965 Posts