Off Road Forums On Planet4x4 banner

toyota 4runners

2K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  m38a1 
#1 ·
Im new to off road scene and i Just bought a 92 4runner V6 auto....I would like to keep it mostly stock except maybe a small lift and widen the wheel base a little...anybody got any ideas?

#2 ·
just my .02.

if your new to offroad i would just throw on a decent set of tires. stock size or not too much bigger, something in a MT or AT and just go wheeling. get to know the vehicle. it will make you a better driver in the long run. and go with some one that is willing to go with you and show you some driving techniques.

#5 ·
aahh screw the whole keep it stock idea and throw some one tone axles under it!
:flipoff:

31x10.5 is a great tire for what most need. That's how I started and now it has one tons and 40s.:thumb:

#7 ·
Just get with the local club(s) and find some people to go with. Getting seat time, seeing other vehicles, deciding which kind of wheeling you want to pursue is going to determine what upgrades are done.

If you decide you like the rock crawling, then you will be making upgrades for that. You might be swapping the front axle, putting in a doubler, and getting body protection.
If desert/ prerunner is more your style then you will be keeping the IFS and making the suspension ready for fast desert whoops.

If you like the exploration type trips, then you will be looking for ways to increase reliabilty and long range comfort and use.

But getting out with differnt people will really determine what you like best.

#9 ·
Than I would keep it stock or basically stock. Good tires will get you a long way. There are a lot of expedition forums which may be more of your speed with LOTS of good info. I am a rockcrawler so thats my main thing I focus on. TOTALLY different from what you want and needs are different. Camping doesnt require dual lockers/cases/harnesses/cage etc.